I read on James Urbaniak’s LiveJournal that The National’s video for “Conversation 16” premiered. This particular song means a lot to me as it came out in the middle of my impending divorce, especially this part:

I’m a confident liar
Had my head in the oven so you’d know where I’ll be
I’ll try to be more romantic
I want to believe in everything you believe
I was less than amazing
Do not know what all the troubles are for
Fall asleep in your branches
You’re the only thing I ever want anymore

Here’s the video.

I get why The National took this approach as they are a serious band and they wanted to be funny but the context of the song vs. the video is wrong, wrong, wrong. If it helps move albums, more power to them.

Speaking of context, Tangerine Press reviewed Dodging Traffic and interviewed me about the poems. This is the first reviewer that dug deeper and I liked what she came out with. You can check that out here.

I received two things in the mail yesterday from Ampersand Books:

This is the first anthology published by Ampersand Books and it has an all-star cast, including my poem “Why The Minotaur Remained A Virgin”. Click on the book to check it out.

My story, “Adam Gallari Dreams Of Pitching No Hitters”, is in this issue of The Ampersand Review. You can watch my reading of the story here. Click on the book to check out more of the issue. I’m the guest Poetry Editor for the next issue and the line up is going to be amazing.

The first There Will Be Words is completely booked and it is going to be excellent. I’m excited to start this new reading series with the fine, fine folks at Burrow Press. Read more about There Will Be Words here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

publication news, review of Dodging Traffic

Tags

, , , , , ,