I was alone this past weekend for the first time in a long time and it gave me time to tweak my We Will Live Like Our Ghosts Will Live (WWLLOGWL) MS and to write a bit. It also gave me time to reflect on myself and where I’ve been.

Yesterday, I broke Laura’s Valentine’s Day curse thanks to a lot of planning and a little luck. Last year and the years before that, I didn’t take it very seriously. I wanted to give Laura the Valentine’s Day she always wanted. I also knew what it was like to disappoint someone on Valentine’s Day.

One Valentine’s Day, my ex-wife called in sick to clean my apartment, make dinner and dessert while I was at work. She left 35 balloons around my apartment, each with a message about our relationship (we were together 35 months at the time), even gave me TV on the Radio tickets. I only sent her an e-card because I was broke and at the time, saving for the engagement ring but I know I should have done better.

Looking back through my Live Journal this weekend, I realize how much of an emotard I was and still am to some degree. I’ve learned a lot from my poor choices and mistakes in relationships. I’ve gotten really good at burning bridges but not mending them with people worth mending them with. One day, I’ll forget the matches.

I’ve received three personal, positive rejections for WWLLOGWL so far. They give me a lot of hope that someone will give this MS a home and whoever take it will not only have my gratitude, but my sexy ass will want to rock your face in your respective city on tour.

“We Will Celebrate Our Failures”, the title story to the short story collection I’m working on, is up at Used Furniture Review, which you should read here. I love that it comes right after an interview with Amelia Gray, one of my current talent crushes. Everyone who has read her work probably understands where I’m coming from and probably has the same kind of crush.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

publication news, self assessment

Tags

, ,