I enjoyed AWP 2011  immensely, despite the inconsistency of the panels. I got to be in on two amazing readings, meet oodles of editors and writers I’ve read and interviewed, purchased subscriptions (I has my HOBART flask!), and network, network, network. This was an incredibly rewarding, enriching experience and I’m going  to make AWP a regular thing in my life.

Let’s talk about readings.

Divination in DC was epic. The room was packed, all the authors for this show were on point, and we had the history making moment of [redacted] reading for the first time. The biggest bonuses of the reading came in the form of hanging out with Sean Doyle before and during the reading, mingling and meeting the writers on the bill, finally meeting David Erlewine, Matty Byloos, Daniel Nester, Rion Amilcar Scott.  Here’s my set:

  1. Whir
  2. Primer
  3. The Kama Sutra of Mickey Mouse

Sean’s friend, Ty, was nice enough to take a performance photo of me.

 

Holding my own at the most legendary offsite reading of AWP 2011.

sCORE POtS and Smoke was a little daunting at first because the venue was narrow and cramped, not the worst venue in the world I’ve done a reading in. Then Tara Laskowski of Smokelong Quarterly solved that problem by getting some sound equipment. All the writers on this one brought it hard, incredibly hard, and these were mostly fiction writers reading (except Joseph A. Quintela who killed it with poetry). Everyone owned that room. Here’s what I did (and thanks to Tara for getting my sexy action photo).

  1. Just Do It
  2. Method Acting
  3. Hunt & Gather

I can rock out while wearing a hat. Just sayin'

Other highlights worth mentioning:

  • Literary Death Match DC
  • Watching Regie Cabico for the first time in ten years at LDM rock that shit…and then get robbed for his lack of paper
  • AWP Bookfair
  • Open City Cafe
  • Meeting writers from Orlando who have some serious chops (like Ashley Inguanta)
  • Having another travel buddy in Alex Ruiz
  • Righting a wrong regarding Aubrey Hirsch (check out PANK’s blog in a few days to find out the specifics)
  • Meeting Laura S. and Mark C. from Big Lucks
  • Meeting the Artifice Magazine crew
  • Meeting Matt Seigel, the other half of PANK

There’s so much more, so much more but I can’t spend all night documenting all of the awesome. Know this: if we met, it was a tremendous honor to finally meet you, to have met you, or to see you again. You know who you are.

Time for shameless self promotion

  • I’m in the latest Orange Alert podcast, along with Safety Third label mate xTx.
  • My story “Drop” is in this week’s edition of 4’33”.
  • Purchase a copy of Dodging Traffic from me and I’ll write you an original poem on the spot. If you get it from Ampersand Books, forward me the receipt, along with three words, and I will write you a poem and send it to you.
Join the conversation! 5 Comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by J. Bradley, J. Bradley. J. Bradley said: Happy 300th Post or How I Learned To Mack AWP http://wp.me/prrey-hi […]

    Reply
  2. Nice recap.

    Reply
  3. We are going to blow everyone’s minds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

fun with audio, performances, publication news, self assessment, Writing

Tags

, , , , , , ,