Burrow Press was nice enough to let me write a guest post about the tenth anniversary of the Broken Speech Poetry Slam here.  Last night at Speakeasy when plugging the slam and its tenth anniversary show, the response was less than enthusiastic and my response back was essentially, “Seriously, fuck you guys. What have you done for ten years? Nothing.” I was half joking, half serious when I said it. It reminded me of the overall apathy that still permeates throughout Orlando about things other than local music. The fight goes on.

I’m going to cut back on my schedule of James Decatur posts to once a week since I’ve got more story ideas for We Will Celebrate Our Failures and I need that energy to get them out there.

First AWP conference in a little under two weeks. Starting to really get myself in fighting shape for the two off-site readings I’m in. I plan on two different sets of work and getting them on video, along with others at the readings. I must study the onsite events to see which ones I want to go to and which ones I can go sight seeing in lieu of going to. I am also cooking up some fun things to do for PANK (the new site design is beautiful) while I’m there involving interviews. The world will know what’s up my sleeve soon.

My latest contribution to For Every Year is up here.  If you haven’t had a chance yet, check out my free e-chap My Hands Are As Thick As Dreams. They are some of the fine examples of the types of love poems I can write for you if you take me up on my offer.

Things I have read and enjoyed lately: Amelia Gray’s AM/PM & The Museum of the Weird, the poems I’ve received from my contributor wishlist for Ampersand Review vol 7.

Things I can’t wait to read: Gregory Sherl’s chapbook from Dark Sky, PANK 5.

Things I enjoy listening to lately: Marc Maron’s WTF Podcast

Things I don’t do enough of: sleep

And here’s something that hasn’t found a home yet to commemorate the repeal of Healthcare Reform by the House.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

organizing, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , ,