January 10, 2011

Rebirth

Behold a freshly sheared J. Bradley

This is what I look like on my couch on a Sunday night with a fresh hairdo.

Feels good to not have all that hair.  I must remind myself not to wait two months for another haircut.

I got my first acceptance for 2011 for something that I wrote in 2011 on Friday.  While reading it on my iTouch thanks to some bandwidth borrowing, I tripped and fell on my elbows and knees.  Thanks to the power of Dockers and Old Navy, my left elbow hurts only when I put pressure on it in certain places and my right knee is mildly bruised.  My right Rockport shoe though has a chunk taken out in the front.  Never, ever read while walking in dark places.  I shouldn’t have to tell you this but we all do stupid things.

At an open-mic portion of a reading on Saturday at Neon Forest, I decided to use the same iTouch and read “Bury Me With It” in front of an audience for the first time.  It was in an Orange Alert podcast a little bit back.  I give it to you here for the first time, alone.

I’ve been faithful so far to the James Decatur project.  In a way, it is allowing me to procrastinate from writing more pieces for my Quality Control/We Will Celebrate Our Failures linked short story collection.  Writing from another person’s perspective is easy.  Writing about destruction and not being repetitive about it is a challenge and draining but I know I need to push through and finish the fucker.

On my to-do list for the year of our lord, 2011, I want to do a residency, a short one, but a residency that would let me do some hardcore writing.  I’m a pragmatic guy.  I have a career outside of writing I enjoy maintaining.  The only way I will give that up is either a residency that will also pay the bills or Tyler Perry decides to adapt one of my stories into a movie and I negotiate to receive a percentage of the profits.  I’m sifting through my options.

I saw a local band for the first time in awhile and it reminded me why I’m really not into local music.  This is the order of priority I support local stuff

  1. Local bars & restaurants
  2. Local literature
  3. Local booze
  4. Local art
  5. Local theatre
  6. Local music

The band I saw was musically competent but emotionally lacking.  Very few local acts have made me lose my mind (like Bloom).  I also stay home a lot because I’m all about writing.  I’ve also reached that age where I want to sit to watch a show and have the music compel me to stand and rock the fuck out.

Picfic put up the second installment in my featured contribution stint.  You should check it out here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, self assessment

Tags

, , ,